Quoth C.S. Lewis: Made for Another World

 

 

In context, this quote from Mere Christianity probably refers to a soul yearning for God and His kingdom. (I say “probably” because I haven’t actually had the pleasure of reading that one yet. Seriously recommend Screwtape Letters though. I digress.)

However, I also think it refers to creative people, yearning for things that don’t exist in this world, and creating them.

Or, you know, it might mean psychopaths who traipse around town in their everyday clothes with regal robes and gold crowns thrown on. I’m leaning toward the heart of creative people personally, but hey, if you like that interpretation best, whatever paddles your canoe.

Categories: Wise Words | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Quoth C.S. Lewis: Made for Another World

  1. Thank you for another informative blog. The place else may I get that kind of information written in such an ideal
    approach? I’ve a venture that I am simply now working on,
    and I have been at the glance out for such info.

  2. I’m assuming you mean the “creative people” approach, not the psychopath one? Haha.

    In addition to Lewis’s “Mere Christianity” and other works, I can recommend Stephen King’s “On Writing” and Rainier Maria Rilke’s “Letters to a Young Poet.” Rilke’s letters are full of some of the most valuable wisdom I’ve ever read as a writer.

    And after a quick Google search, here are a couple of blogs you might like:

    http://rachellefordyce.com/

    https://julieisrael.wordpress.com/2014/01/18/creative-people-quote/

    Hope that helps!

    – Caleb

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.